Swedish Bloom-Time Quilt

Last year, I joined the Zakka Along 2.0, a sew along featuring the book Patchwork, Please by Ayumi Takahashi. The Zakka Along was hosted by A Quilter’s Table and LRStitched.  There’s a Flickr group here, very fun to stroll through, as there are many interpretations of the projects.

Each week, we did one project from Patchwork, Please. I didn’t finish each project each week, but by the end of the sew along, I had finished all the projects. I enjoyed the sewing and got to try a lot of things that were new to me: foundation paper piecing, zippers, pouches and more. Almost everything was something I had never made before!

10261877595_de0d15f93f_b

At the end of the sew along, this quilt, the Swedish Bloom-Time Quilt, remained a quilt top. I really loved it! And I was thinking of keeping it for myself! But these many months, there was something holding me back from quilting it. As I sewed the flowers together, I noticed it was a bit…puffy. Being puffy is fine for some things, maybe your hair on 80’s night, but not for quilts! Oh no, a quilt wants to be flat, flat, super flat. I knew the quilting was not going to go well.

DSC_6417

And it didn’t. But it’s not too noticeable from a distance. And hey, I won’t feel obligated to give this to someone, I’ll just have to keep it for myself after all.

DSC_6412

I quilted it with ‘organic’ straight lines at random intervals. It doesn’t look as random as I had hoped, so next time I’ll know to add more variety if I’m going for that look.

DSC_6408

I added some text prints in the backing and in the border to contrast with those candy-colored blooms, as well as a black and white binding. I think it’s Art Gallery Squared in Noir. I think I like it.

DSC_6425

This year, I hope to improve the accuracy of my piecing. I also want to try some more styles of quilting.

Yesterday, I finished a simple Christmas quilt (only a month late for Christmas, right?). That will be up tomorrow.

7 thoughts on “Swedish Bloom-Time Quilt

  1. Beautifully done! It’s so nice to see projects being finished even after the sew-along is over – glad you finished it up and shared about it! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

