Art Smocks

The Oliver + S book, Little Things to Sew, has lots of adorable projects for use by kids, and the art smocks were one of the first projects I wanted to make (this book also has the red riding hood). My kids like painting, and it is messy, so a smock is not only a way to use cute fabrics, but is also practical! I cut out the pieces for this art smock with the cars at least a year ago.  I’m not sure why it took me so long to finish it! It’s not a hard project. I like that the inside is tidy looking thanks to French seams.

DSC_6738

I think I may have cut the sleeves out wrong, but it came together okay and no one has complained about a funny feeling fit.

DSC_6659 DSC_6658

Here are some action shots!

DSC_6650

These smocks were on my January finish-them-up list. I forgot to actually make the second one for my daughter! So it wasn’t a January finish, but it was easy enough. It can be done in an afternoon. I used the same size pattern (medium, size 4-6) for both my 3 and 5 year old. Should last the little one a while! Love these cute fabrics!

DSC_6740

Leave a Reply

