A little love…

DSC_7072

One last baby quilt…a simple square patchwork quilt using Hello, Luscious fabric by Basic Grey for Moda. I just love Basic Grey. I think I might have most of their scrapbook papers. Their designs for paper look great on fabric too, and I might have a few of those as well. One of their distinctive characteristics is a grungy element. The solids have a distressed look that adds texture. I like it, but that quality doesn’t always mix with my stash of mostly-saturated-color fabrics.

DSC_7056

This quilt measures 34 X 43 inches. I used two charm packs (precut 5-inch squares – so easy!). I started this quilt last summer, but then I got bored with it. I sometimes get bored using all one fabric collection. Half the fun is the mixing of the fabrics! I saw this quilt from Quilt Story that added some stars to a very similar quilt also made using Hello Luscious. That gave me the idea to add a heart block, instead of stars (after all, it was around Valentine’s Day when I finally got back to finishing this quilt). The heart is not made from that fabric collection, but I tried to find a close match from fabric I had on hand.

DSC_7062

I quilted with diagonal lines, and added a green binding, which I think worked nicely!

DSC_7044

I had the idea of giving it to my kids as a valentine, but then I realized, it’s kind of small. It would be better suited to a baby, as a floor mat or something. It will be a gift for someone tiny, a little quilty love.

One thought on “A little love…

Leave a Reply

