Odds & Ends of Summer

It was a nice summer! No long stretches of sweltering humidity. Half our family spent the summer in Asia, along with our family camera. Family and camera had a great time, and they are back! All had a wonderful time, and camera got a workout:

CN0_9785

CN0_0017

CN0_9665

So I am back to posting photos (although some of the photos in this post are still off my phone, and really, not great).Truth be told, there wasn’t much for me to photograph this summer. In July, a friend stayed over and wanted to learn some sewing. She made four patchwork pillow covers, complete with zipper closure, as well as a quilt top. We also trekked out to a fairly local quilt shop. I made next to nothing — just this one giant pillow for my son. He was missing the traveling half of the family.

photo

 

It’s a big star. Next time, I might make the points of the star in a contrasting color. He picked this circus animal fabric for the front, which I was happy to finally use.

In August, I made a little mini for a swap.  I have been wanting to make Anna Maria Horner’s Feather Bed quilt for a while, so I decided to try a couple feathers for this mini first (has anyone tried making these feathers ‘mini’ for a mini? I didn’t, but I think it would be cute). I really like them, and now the bed quilt has got to be made! It’s a must. Just a question of when…

photo 1

My machine started acting kind of weird, so I quilted this quite simply. I would have done more echoes around the feathers, and inside the feathers, but I was worried I would get into something I wouldn’t be able to finish if my machine gave me too much trouble. Anyway, I think the swap partner liked it well enough. I sent this hot pad along too.

photo 3   photo 2

Finally, I got an idea that I had to start sewing up right away. But my machine totally gave up, and I had to take it into the shop. Isn’t that always the way? I hardly felt like sewing all summer, and when I finally get back into it, the machine decides it would rather not! They told me it might take two weeks at the sewing shop, but it was finished in under a week. So! We are back in business, and I will have things to share soon. Here’s a sneak peak:

photo 5 photo 4

 

Leave a Reply

