A Quiet Baby Quilt

I finished a baby quilt I’ve been working on for a few months — just a little here and there. It’s going to a little friend who is two, so maybe I should call it a toddler quilt.

USA_2067

It’s made up of two-inch finished squares and is about 36 X 40 inches. These things take a while to put together. I didn’t use a strip piecing method because I wanted it to be really random. Not sure if that was the best idea.

USA_2082

It is kind of low volume, but with sweet pink and yellow accents. I used a minky cuddle fabric for the backing, along with batting in between. It is just so cuddly.

USA_2068

The quilting is very simple. (A few wobbly lines, don’t mind that). I finished the binding by hand, since I haven’t been satisfied with the way my machine-bound quilts have looked. This is so much better.

I used lots and lots of different fabrics, and there are a few fussy-cut cuties.

USA_2090

My 4-year-old was styling the photographing of this little quilt. She lives by the thought that more is more. “Mom, just wait. I have a few friends I want in the picture.”

USA_2084

“No, no, not yet. I have a few more.”

USA_2085

Recently, I took stock of all the projects I have started this year and have not yet completed. There are twelve! Twelve, in all states of completion, from just-cut to basted. I know it is not realistic, but I would love to get them all finished by the end of this year. I want to do some new things.

This project is one of the twelve, so now we are down to eleven! Yay! I have one more, almost finished, that I hope to share next week.

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Quiet Baby Quilt

  1. I love this! I also have too many unfinished projects. Lots of quilt tops but very few basted or quilted. I need some motivation to get them done already!

  2. I think it is very lovely and that your set designer has great ideas. I often think “more is more.” You can bet you 2-year-old friend is going to cuddle with it and lots of her “friends.” It is so inviting!

Leave a Reply

