Rockets!

I made a quick quilt for one of my nephews. Cute, cute rocket ship fabric is quite irresistible .

USA_2236

I bought this as a quilt kit from Fat Quarter Shop not too long ago (it uses the Rocket Age collection from Riley Blake…hard to find much of it now. The pattern, “Blast Off“, is free from rileyblakedesigns.com). Before I started sewing, when I was just collecting fabric, as it were, I would sometimes buy a quilt kit. I was thinking it was a good way to get enough fabric for a quilt without having to buy too much. Later, I realized I don’t really like kits, since choosing the fabrics is my favorite part of a quilt, a totally essential part of making a quilt. Still, I went with the kit on this one, because the fabric collection goes nicely together anyway, and so I probably wouldn’t have mixed fabrics much. Plus, it was cost effective. Sometimes, I guess, a kit gets the job done.

USA_2234

I especially love the newspaper-style fabric I chose for the backing. It might be a bit much in a big chunk like this, but who can resist retro adverts for rocket ships, decoder rings and moon shoes??

USA_2244

I kind of want to keep it for myself! Decoder rings! I have a few scraps left…probably enough for a pillow…for myself (maybe? maybe yes?). Yahoo!

USA_2242

Leave a Reply

