Wallflowers

I joined the Wallflowers quilt along at Bloomerie Fabrics, using the Wallflowers pattern from Cluck Cluck Sew.  My end product was not the expected throw quilt, but rather a colorful baby quilt! It’s about 42 inches square.

USA_2312

I planned to use a colorful stack of fabrics.

photo 1

Although I loved the look of them all smashed together-like,

photo 3

I wasn’t sure if they would look good paired off and separated by a lot of white fabric. But I gave it a try and…

photo 4

they so didn’t look good together. Well, I didn’t like them anyway. Waaah! So I decided to put these brights together for a baby quilt. And since I wasn’t making it for someone specifically, I gave my free motion foot a try as well! It does not look very pretty up close, but it was so fun! I will definitely be trying that some more in the future.

And used up a colorful backing I had stashed…

USA_2317

I’m going to use the remaining blocks to make the throw size quilt as originally planned.

USA_2328

I’ll have to make five more blocks. Here are the fabrics I’ve chosen:

USA_2331

This time, each block will have one black fabric and one color. I’m going to use Anna Maria Horner prints in most of the blocks, like this one.

USA_2329

I was a little late joining the QAL, a little hesitant to join, since I just recently said I had 12 projects I wanted to finish by the end of the year. Heh. (But hey, I have finished 5 of the 12 already! Maybe three more will make it into 2014.)  I enjoyed this quilt along, and seeing others’ progress on Instagram (#wallflowersqal) helped to me to finish up something (although, hmm, I also created another unfinished project…but I can’t wait to finish it. These blocks are fun. And I hope it will be a Christmas present. For the person who bankrolls the fabric. Ahem.).

Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!

USA_2334

4 thoughts on “Wallflowers

  1. I just love your finished quilt and that you went for it with the free motion foot! I’ll be watching for the black and AMH Wallflowers. It will be beautiful!

Leave a Reply

