More Playing with Fabric

USA_2829

I’m the kind of person who makes lists, just to offload all the stuff I’ve been carrying around in my head. I feel better after doing that. But, when it comes to things I want to make, the list always gets longer, with many additions, but also because I haven’t checked off many things. Sometimes it seems I never make anything (so this blog is useful to me as a record of at least a few things that have been finished). Now I’m playing around with two things that have been on my quilty list of things I’d like to make: English Paper Piecing and the Drunkard’s Path pattern.

USA_2831

One of the things that, in the past, has stopped me from trying these is the cutting. I’m not good with cutting different shapes. I get bored and then, not so accurate. But guess what — there are ways around this.

First, for this English paper piecing (EPP) project, I bought a kit. This is a large throw quilt, made with around 1000 pieces, all diamonds and hexagons. It’s a Tula Pink/Free Spirit kit called ‘Diamonds in the Sky’, which features her Acacia line. If I were doing the cutting, I would probably stop before I even started, and that is why I gave the kit a try. I bought it maybe a year ago, and got started during this past Christmas holiday. My plan is to do one row a month. There are 13 rows, so yep, we’re looking at a year long project if I stay on schedule.

USA_2846 USA_2844

This is my first time working with EPP, some of the stitches are visible in the first row I did, but less in the second. A little progress I hope, although I don’t really know what I did differently.

USA_2832

This month, I might try glue basting the shapes.

USA_2849

These pictures show one row, but since taking them, I have added a second row. I’ll show updates here and there throughout the year.

This second project, (totally separate, regular piecing), uses the drunkard’s path shapes. I’ve had a little trouble sewing curves in the past, so these blocks give me double worries: special cutting and curved piecing. But the results are so pretty. I want to try them!

USA_2863

I probably would still be thinking about it, but it happened that my mom got a Sizzix die cutter for Christmas, so I asked her if I could borrow it. She brought it along with her on the airplane. Something I didn’t know: these die cutters are heavy. Oops. Sorry Mom.

USA_2867

So now, we have these pieces cut in a fairly short amount of time. And next, I just need some time to get to work on them! The colors are so cheerful and are calling my name.  Soon.

Leave a Reply

