Rainbow Mini Quilt Swap

How can it possibly be the last day of April???

The Rainbow Mini Quilt swap finished up about a month ago. I got some great presents! And I sent off something kind of cute too.

IMG_3614

This swap was on Instagram, hosted by the lovely @katebasti. The minis needed to feature the color spectrum, not necessarily literal rainbows, but all the colors. My partner’s favorite fabrics were reproductions. I have a lot of fabric, but I don’t have much of these. Just a few 30’s, but it was fun to be challenged to use them. I used Fig Tree Quilt’s Lollipops Mini pattern (minus the borders), which is basically four Dresden blocks.

IMG_3613

It looked easier than it was. I enjoyed the process, despite many frustrations with wonkiness, not-quite-round Dresdens and so on. Note to self: in future, plan to make a practice block. The first one never turns out.

IMG_3481

USA_3096

I hand appliqued these to the background fabric and did some hand quilting as well. I haven’t tried either of these techniques before, so I did a little research (youTube, yes). It was hard to get a consistent and pretty result, especially with the center circle, but maybe that’s how it goes with a first try of something. There were many re-dos, but wonkiness persists. Wondering if I should not try new things with swaps. The recipient has to bear the result. Well. I sent her some rainbow goodies, too.

USA_3098

IMG_3617

Here’s the mini I received from @laschiefelbein. It uses Alison Glass Sunprints fabric, and is so pretty. I love it. Linda even changed the thread color to match each fabric. I’m never that patient, but it looks lovely.

USA_3709

She also sent along two open wide pouches stuffed with goodies of a rainbow colored nature: m&m’s, skittles, a pen, a glass ornament, little toys for the kids, and more. She is a very generous swap partner! I have given away all the open wide pouches that I’ve made, so it was fun to get some for myself. The large one is really quite big and can hold a lot! Thanks, partner!

IMG_3597

IMG_3600

I must admit I have signed up for three more swaps, all featuring a different designer’s fabrics: Alison Glass, Anna Maria Horner, and Cotton + Steel. I am planning to do new things with them, so we’ll see how it goes! I think they are all to be sent out in June. So far, well, I’ve got fabric. I need to get moving, especially since May and June have 6 separate work-related travels for my husband or me. This is slightly up from our usual travel events tally of zero. There are always fun, new swaps popping up on Instagram. I reckon I should not sign up for anymore for awhile…

Leave a Reply

