Wallflowers Quilt – a finish

USA_5950

Last week, the new year seemed fresh and exciting for all of about 90 minutes. I jotted down some plans that made me chuckle in their optimism and over-ambitiousness. By now, I know there are far more things that I want to do than I can do. Still, I like the way it looks in my notebooks when I imagine I can make a quilt every week. Yes! Now that would make a dent in the stash. But then I come back to reality. I might be able to finish a quilt a month, if I quit looking at blogs and such on the Internet. I mean, I don’t waste time on Pinterest, that site gives me free-radical anxiety and I don’t know why, but I do find myself going down all kinds of crafty rabbit holes sometimes.

Anyway, after 90 minutes of good times, back to reality. I had to face both the un-decorating after Christmas and the unpacking after traveling. And a giant pile of laundry, three times its usual size. Wow, all my favorite things, all at the same time. Escapism. I quilted something instead.

USA_5960

This is the first finish from the FAL quarter 1 list I posted recently. I’ve posted about this Wallflower quilt before (pattern from Cluck Cluck Sew), and I’ve had the quilt top done for quite a while. I was putting off the quilting in hopes that I could improve my free motion quilting enough to try something fun on this one. I wanted to learn FMQ in 2015…kind of didn’t happen. I shall continue to try to learn in 2016. I know it is going to be fun.

In the end, I decided to go with a simple double loop all-over design. It looked great on my practice scraps. But apparently I have no shoulder strength to speak of, so after a short time of quilting, things went from bad to worse as my arms got tired.

The whole thing looks like it was quilted by a drunken sailor, but there are places that I like. So hard to photograph, but the gold one below is the good, the turquoise is the bad.

USA_5953

USA_5956

Keeping it real. It was good practice. I am going to quilt my next top in the same pattern in hopes of getting it right. If nothing else, I’ll take this as a baseline for comparison…hope to see something better by the end of the year.

And this quilt has another favorite Anna Maria Horner print on the back. Happy to have a chance to use that!

USA_5954

Gifting this to my husband for his birthday this week. He’s not picky about the quilting, and he wanted a bigger quilt for when he’s reading on chilly nights (this quilt is 68″ square). And he thinks this is the best quilt so far, so that’s a win.

Even though it was a quilt for a boy, I went with the hot pink binding. I love it so against the white. I asked him if it was okay if his quilt had a pink binding (the whole thing has a lot of pink actually) and he did not mind. When I met him, he hated pink, said he’d never wear a pink shirt. Or necktie. But. Recently I heard him say he looks good in his pink shirt. Hee hee. I have this effect on people, I guess. What are you going to do, living with a pink lover like me, after all…

And don’t worry, I’ve packed up all the Christmas stuff, put the suitcases in the attic, washed the laundry. Now if I could just get someone to fold it…

USA_5948

Linking up with the Finish-a-long Quarter 1 Finishes.

Link to proposed Q1 Finishes.

9 thoughts on “Wallflowers Quilt – a finish

  1. I may agree with your husband–best job yet on a big quilt. The quilting is fine, the bright binding is fine, also. We think it looks terrific and so do the friends I showed it to today. Luanne took your url for your blog. She loves your writing.

  2. i’ve started seeing this pattern pop up more and more and I think it needs to go on my to-do list. Yours is lovely and I too love that AMH print on the back! Field Study is probably my all time favorite collection of hers.

    1. Thanks, Laurie. It is a fun pattern. I’m thinking about trying her newer one, same block but smaller and closer together. Might be a lot of work though!

  3. It’s lovely! Thank you for participating in the FAL, on behalf of the 2016 global FAL hosts.

    P.S. Next time (and I hope there is a next time!), please could you remember to add a link to your proposed finishes list in your linked finish post so that we can easily find it when verifying whether finishes are eligible for the prize draw? Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

