Mug-rug Swaps

IMG_1131

One of the Instagram swaps that I’ve joined a few times is the Starbucks Mugrug swap. This one is so simple, which I quite like: just a Starbucks mug from a nearby place and a little mini quilt or ‘mug rug’. Some people collect the Starbucks ‘You Are Here’ mugs from different cities. I wasn’t planning to do that, but some are cute, and they are a very good size for coffee. Also, they stack nicely in the cupboard.

IMG_1090

This is the one I’ve just sent out for the current swap. Bright, fussy cut hexagons assembled in the traditional way, hand pieced, and finally, finished with machine diagonal cross-hatch quilting. This took a little while, but I enjoyed it. Hey, I found several bunnies!

IMG_1135

With a graphic Cotton + Steel apple print on the back.

FullSizeRender

IMG_1130

Here’s what I made for the previous swap. I actually forgot to take a picture of the finish, but it basically looked just like this, because I used a binding that matched the border. This butterfly is a free paper pieced block from Lillyella Stitchery.

IMG_0583

And here’s what I received in the last swap from the lovely @tifosew:

IMG_0608

A Portland mug and cool Tula tigers. The back is so fun.

IMG_0609

 

 

 

One thought on “Mug-rug Swaps

Leave a Reply

