Hello, Pink!

Hello, dogwood! Hello, azalea! Hello, spring chickies.

USA_7238

I had the plan to make a quilt for each season, just for the family to enjoy. When I saw the chick quilt in the Farm Girl Vintage book by Lori Holt, I knew it would be perfect for spring. I usually don’t want to make a quilt the exact way it looks in the pattern, but with this one…I did.

USA_7243

In my final product, there are a couple color-balance issues bugging me, but overall I’m enjoying these colors and cute chicks! Pinks and yellows are some of my favorites, and this scrappy quilt gave me the chance to pull out all my stashed favorites. Especially these little dogs.

USA_7248

I gave the loopy free motion quilting another go, and I kind of like it! I also was happy to put to use a long-stashed cuddle fabric in this buttery yellow. I didn’t have any trouble using this type of fabric, and it is so soft and cuddly. The quilting shows up more than I expected on the back.

USA_7234

I also found this stripey fabric in my stash, and love using it in the binding.

USA_7251

It’s cool today, so we shall use it directly!

USA_7245

This is the first finish off my FAL Q2 list .

5 thoughts on “Hello, Pink!

  1. What a pretty quilt and stunning photoshoot! I shared on our FAL fb page, as well as pinned to my PHOTOSHOOTS pin board!

  2. Darling finish! I’m visiting on behalf of the FAL hosting team – thanks so much for joining us!

Leave a Reply

