100 Blocks

I’ve joined the fun over on Instagram, where some lovely sewists are hosting a 100-day sew-a-long. Each day, participants are making the block of the day and posting in the hashtag #100days100blocks

IMG_2955

We will be making all 100 blocks in Tula Pink’s City Sampler 100 Modern Quilt Blocks. I’ve had the book for some time, so I’m happy to have the chance to use it. The cover quilt uses all 100 blocks, and as shown below, features a spectrum of colors. I’ve seen some other pretty ones finished as well. I’m not planning to use the rainbow color scheme – instead I’ve selected two recent collections from Sarah Watson for Cloud 9 (organic fabric collections Biology and Garden Secrets). I’ve been drooling over these fabrics for awhile (virtually, of course, the fabrics are fine, computer maybe not), and my mom recently gave me a nice, plump, fat quarter bundle as a gift. Yay! Putting them straight to work.

IMG_2953

The sew-a-long started last week, and I’ve enjoyed the first blocks. They are even cute on the back – don’t they look like little packages or envelopes?

IMG_2969  IMG_2972

I am not quite sure this fabric pull is going to give me enough diversity to make 100 blocks. I probably at least need to add in some solids. I’m fussy cutting the panel from Biology, butterflies and flowers and things. It is a great panel. I might need more.

IMG_2976

This one with the cutie butterfly is my favorite so far:IMG_2981

Head over to Instagram to see more (there’s a link to my feed on the sidebar, or use the hashtag above).

7 thoughts on “100 Blocks

  1. I have the book but OMYGAWD 100 blocks in 100 days. Not sure if I could do it. Will have to think on it. I’ve only used it so far to swap out blocks in another QAL I’m doing. Maybeeeee!

  2. I thought maybe you were trying to start a controversy with your “sexist” remark! 😉 Autocorrect doesn’t have a problem with sewer, but sewist is always problematic, and I get so tired of changing “see” to “sew” all the time, too.

  3. I’ve been avoiding that particular frenzy of fun. i started the 100 blocks about a year ago but stopped. Not ready to take them up again just yet. I love the fabrics you are using in yours.

Leave a Reply

