The little girl’s birthday quilt – a finish

usa_8416

Here to share a little finish today. It’s my daughter’s birthday quilt. I might have been a teensy bit late in finishing it, considering her birthday was in June, but hey, still in the same calendar year.

usa_8400

I do work well with deadlines, and recently my daughter laid one down: “Mom, I need this quilt by Monday,” she said.

No problem, I thought.

On Monday, I had it all done except hand stitching the binding down (which I planned to finish after the kiddies’ bedtime, while re-watching episodes of Gilmore Girls on Netflix). “Okay, Mom,” she said, “I’ll give you one more day. But I need it tomorrow. So you’re really going to have to work hard.”

I don’t know where she gets it.

usa_8402Anyway, we have a lovely little quilt ready for lots of teddy bear tea parties. It’s only 48 inches square, so it’s not really a bed quilt, hardly a throw, but great for playing with the dolls and snuggling. It features the very cute Heather Ross Tiger Lily fabric. I used the Picnic Basket pattern by Amy Friend for BasicGrey, which calls for two borders totaling six inches on each side. We were limited, however, by our need to use this cuddle fabric on the back, which was only a 54-inch piece. I tried some small borders, but it didn’t look good, so we just went with this. I didn’t want to miss the rare chance to use this coral-red cuddle fabric that we already had on hand — it’s a nice match I think.

usa_8425(“In this picture, I’ll be showing off the soft back of the quilt,” she said.)

For binding, I saw a stack of fabrics lying sad around my room, looking kinda coral-pink-ombre, and so I put them to work. They are enjoying their new life.

usa_8395This is the second finish off my Q4 Finish-a-long goal list, found here. Yay!

  usa_8431

(“Hmm, maybe I’ll do the camera?” she said.)

6 thoughts on “The little girl’s birthday quilt – a finish

  1. This is just awesome and I can see she loves it! I did the same thing – was trying to finish a quilt for my Mom for her birthday present in September. It was finally done in November.

  2. It’s a beautiful quilt and I love how your daughter got you to finish it. Perhaps I could borrow her for a short while to encourage me. Your photos are great.

  3. Your quilt is beautiful and the photos are fantastic. I am glad you were able to get this gift done and finished. Thank you for participating in the FAL, on behalf of the 2016 global FAL hosts.

Leave a Reply

