Postcard from (Snowy) Sweden

The first time I saw JeliQuilt’s ‘Postcard from Sweden’ quilt (free pattern download at jeliquilts’ Craftsy shop), I knew I needed one of them living with me.  All the color!

I finished this one late last year, but was waiting for a nice snowy day to get some pictures. The contrast is a lot of fun!

We had a week of wintery weather in February (which was not a lot, but enough for me). I took the quilt outside just after the snow stopped falling — but the wind was still so strong!

Since this quilt is all about color placement, picking up a Kona cotton quilt kit is a great option (I got mine at Stash Fabrics, but they also have them at Craftsy, as well as other places outside the U.S.). Although I often don’t enjoy using quilt kits, I loved making this one. I felt happy just seeing all the colors come together under the sewing machine.

I finished the top last August while on vacation in Michigan. I echo quilted along both sides of the seams. The backing is a fun popcorn fabric from Cotton + Steel. I was imagining using this in the summer while watching outdoor movies!

I think I made a couple color placement mistakes, but I don’t mind at all. It’s a happy quilt.

7 thoughts on “Postcard from (Snowy) Sweden

  1. I have been wanting to make this quilt for a long time. It doesn’t help that it keeps popping up in the ads on Facebook and anywhere else I visit that “reads” where you’ve been! 😀 Your quilt is gorgeous and I like your pictures on the snow!

Leave a Reply

