A Woodland Quilt

Hello friends! How have you been? I’ve had a couple quilts ready to share, although I’m not that happy with the photos I’ve got. It’s all about the light, and sometimes you have to take what you get. This one was a gift for a friend, and I grabbed these photos with my iPhone just before handing it off. I was visiting my parents in west Michigan, and sometimes that area goes for days and weeks without seeing the sun…and so it did, just to remind me. Seeing the sun in winter over there is always a cause for great celebration and rejoicing.  

My friend asked for log cabin style…bears…earth tones…and when I said I didn’t have any fabric like that (it’s use what you have!), we eventually got to this: woodland style. I had a bundle of Rae Ritchie Foxtail Forest fabric on hand, and my mom had another bundle of Rae Ritchie Trail Mix fabric, which she gave to the cause. There are some really cute woodland and camping prints in there, mostly small scale. (Although they are different from my usual color preferences, I must confess I do like all Rae Ritchie prints, especially the ones featuring the magic of the forest…currently crushing on this one).

It’s just simple patchwork…of rectangles…for added interest over the usual square patchwork. Ok fine, it was because of a cutting mistake early on, but I decided to embrace it and not waste fabric. I also added a row of flying geese. I used a Bloc Loc flying geese ruler, and I thought it was a really successful way to get all the points on the geese (although I didn’t like the cutting instructions that came with the ruler — one goose at a time — I didn’t have the excess fabric time brain power to experiment with other ways of cutting paired with the ruler). 

Hello cute raccoons and foxes! And a plaid binding!

I especially love the backing, the very subtle woodland creatures print, Menagerie, by Sarah Watson. I have been hoarding this one a long time, and was happy to have the perfect use for it. It’s hard to photograph though (use the link to get a better view). 

My friend said she loved it!

3 thoughts on “A Woodland Quilt

  1. I still see a bit of earth tone colors, just some added nice bright pops of other colors too 🙂 I think this was a wonderful compromise at achieving the look your friend wanted. The quilt looks so cozy and inviting you just want to curl up with it. Congrats on this finish!

Leave a Reply

